For Drivers: Using the Split Sleeper Berth Provision

25 03 2011

There seems to be a bit of confusion on using the split sleeper berth provision. Let’s try to clear it up. The sleeper berth provision allows a driver to accumulate the required ten hours of rest in two separate periods. One period of at least 8 consecutive hours in the sleeper berth. The other rest period least 2 consecutive hours of either sleeper berth, off duty or combination of both.

Now the confusing part, splitting the breaks does not reset your hours. The first break whether it is the 8 hr or the 2hr, counts towards the 14 hours you are on duty. It only stops the clock and lets you have the remaining hours you did not use. When you take the second break your hours are recalculated back to the first break and you will only get back the hours you used before the first break.

Now for the good news, with eLogs all this is calculated for you. Whenever you split your sleeper berth time, eLogs will let you know how much time you have to drive and can be on duty. Many drivers are going into violation because they think that the People net system has made a mistake. This has yet to be the case in the time I have been here.

The sleeper berth provision can be a very useful tool in helping you get to your destination on time. It may even help you get home just a couple of hours sooner to be with your family. However, you must understand it and let the eLogs system work the calculations for you in order to be in compliance.

If you have any questions about this regulation, please feel free to call me at (812) 246-6306 ext. 598.

Thanks,

Dave Edmondson
Safety and Training Manager
National Distributors Leasing, Inc.


Actions

Information

12 responses

28 03 2011
Jeff

Excellent post Dave! I think this will be a help to some folks! ~ Jeff

24 07 2012
Scott

Thanks Dave! Your explanation of the sleeper berth was right on time and easy to understand…finally after four years of driving I clearly understand and recognize how useful it can and will be.

18 02 2013
las vegas florists sunday delivery

I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this website is in fact pleasant.

13 03 2013
Sciatic nerve relief

Genuinely no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other visitors that they will help, so here it takes place.

13 06 2013
webpage

A good blog with

exciting content, that’s what I need

22 06 2013
Military History

Hey there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg
it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

6 07 2013
refrigerator freezer repair

Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I
provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours
and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information
you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you.

Appreciate it!

14 07 2013
large appliance repair

Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?
My blog goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit
from each other. If you might be interested feel
free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
Great blog by the way!

17 07 2013
basic health insurance

I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if
the problem still exists.

30 07 2013
short term apartment rental Tucson

I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty
penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any
recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

15 08 2013
mathematrucker

This blog post contains a glaring error, but at least the blogger admitted to being confused before committing it. During the 8-hour sleeper berth break your 14-hour clock is stopped, so it does NOT “count towards the 14 hours you are on duty.”

23 09 2013
Irvin

I think thnis is one of the most important info for me. And i am
glad reading your article. But should remark on spme general things, Thhe
web site style is ideal, the articles is really excellent :
D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

